Awarded to date

Canterbury Park: September 8 - 16, 2018

MSPT Season 7 POY Rich Alsup leads as 14 advance from Day 1A of MSPT Canterbury Park

Created (9/13/2018 11:19:08 PM by Chad Holloway)


Day 1A of the latest MSPT Canterbury Park attracted 112 entries, but by the end of the night just 14 remained with MSPT Season 7 Player of the Year Rich Alsup and his stack of 320,500 leading the way.

Others to bag big stacks were two-time MSPT champ Blake Bohn (248,500), Brett Hansen Begg (241,500), 2017 Fall Poker Classic Main Event champ Dennis Stevermer (222,000), and Yevgeniy Minakrin (178,500), who round out the top five.

They were joined by the likes of Tyler Caspers (149,500), Dan “DQ” Hendrickson (99,500), and the short-stacked Victor Hoffman (66,000). Action ended on Day 1A with 8:50 left on the clock in Level 15.

Among those to try and fall on Day 1A were Alex Winter, 2017 MN Poker Mag POY Todd Melander, Tom Hammers, Matt Alexander, 3-Putts, and World Series of Poker bracelet winner John Reading. Likewise, former MSPT champs Ahmed Taleb, Ben Marsh, Mark Sandness, and Mark Wadekamper, Jason Sell, and defending champ Rob Wazwaz all hit the rail.

Two more flights remain for the MSPT Canterbury Park starting with 1B at Noon local time on Friday. 1C will take place at the same time on Saturday. Late registration will remain open until 9:10 p.m. both nights. The surviving players from all flights will then return at 11 a.m. on Sunday to play down to a winner.

Also, on Friday there will be a $250 TURBO satellite at 9:00 a.m. That satty features 15-minute levels with 20% advancing to the Main Event.