Meskwaki Casino: July 19 - 27, 2014


Meskwaki Casino - Tama, IA

July 25-27, 2014

Main Event: 368 Entrants

Jonathan Olson Wins MSPT Meskwaki Casino, $95,741

Watch the full final table video (Large file, may take a few minutes to load)

On Sunday night, Jonathan Olson topped a field of 368 runners to claim a $95,741 first-place prize in the Mid-States Poker Tour Meskwaki Casino in Tama, Iowa. The Iowa resident and MSPT first-timer represented his home turf, triumphing over veteran Mike Holm after a two-hour heads-up match that saw Holm display classic "alligator blood," tenaciously hanging on with a shorter stack during multiple all ins before capitulating.

Holm earned $53,188 for his runner-up finish.

Seventy-one players came into Day 2 hopeful for the title, but about half left the room without being paid a cent for their tournament efforts. The tally of empty-handed casualties included Jason Seitz,Grant Hinkle, Adam Zych, Ryan Hohenstein, Tom Hammers, and Scott Mahin, who was fresh off an 18th-place finish in the 2014 World Series of Poker Main Event.

The bubble burst at the conclusion of Level 18, and it happened without the need for hand-for-hand play as two players busted in rapid succession.

Phil Mader (32nd - $2,198), Kou Vang (30th - $2,198), Matt Alexander (29th - $2,198), Molly Mossey (21st - $2,482), and Day 1a chip leader Brandon "norajean" Meyers (15th - $3,812) were among those to get paid after busting in the money. Vang's small cash ensured he would come out of the tournament in first place on the MSPT Player of the Year leaderboard.

Olson came into the day with a mediocre stack of 65,000, good for just over 20 big blinds. He won a key flip early on with the JJ against the AQ of Stan Webb and was able to build his stack to the point where he went into the final table third in chips with just over one million.

Joe Matheson was the first final-table participant to fall, the victim of a slowplay that allowed former MSPT champion David Gonia to overtake him on the turn. Matthew McGrory busted next in ninth, followed by heavy-hitter Lance Harris in eighth. Harris' fellow Minnesotan Adam Dahlin, who won the Canterbury Park Fall Poker Classic Main Event for $90,035 last year, went down in seventh after his kings were outdrawn on the river by the AK of Olson. Chance Langeness and Frank Huschle were the next two to go in sixth and fifth, respectively.

Gonia entered the day with the top stack, and he used it well, continuing to accumulate chips throughout the grind. Unfortunately for Gonia, all of his hard work came undone in a dizzying three-hand spiral that saw him go from top contender to fourth-place finisher in the span of a few minutes.

Play slowed considerably three-handed, but former chip-leader Chance Lautner ultimately fell in third when he jammed over a raise from Olson with the A5 and was called. Ace-king was again the ticket for Olson, this time the AK, as the board came K7J3Q, giving him the knockout and allowing him to advance to heads-up play with a lead of about 4.4 million to three million.

In what would ultimately be the final hand, which happened in Level 20 (50,000/100,000/10,000), Olson raised to 300,000 on the button and Holm shoved for 1.03 million. Olson thought for a bit before calling.

Olson: K4 
Holm: J10

Equities were close, but it looked great for Holm to double when the door card was the 10. Unfortunately for him, it was followed by a 7 and K. The turn was the 4, giving Olson two pair.

"I'm dead," Holm said, though he was far from it as he picked up a flush draw. A ten would do it for him as well, but it was Olson improving to a boat after the 4 river. The players shook hands to conclude the match and officially make Olson the latest MSPT champion.

Season 5 of the MSPT continues next weekend with another $1,100 Main Event from the Majestic Star Casino in Gary, Indiana. For more information on that event, click here.


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Jonathan Olson Hiawatha IA $95,7411,400
2 Michael Holm Naperville IL $53,1881,200
3 Chance Lautner Adel IA $33,0831,100
4 David Gonia White Bear Lake MN $26,5941,000
5 Frank Huschle Independence MO $20,921900
6 Chance Langeness New Richmond WI $17,197800
7 Adam Dahlin Maple Grove MN $13,829700
8 Lance Harris Apple Valley MN $10,460600
9 Matthew McGrory Aimes IA $7,092500
10 Joe Matheson Andover MN $4,610400
11 Brandon Jones W. Des Moines IA $4,610400
12 Ben Keeline Longmont CO $4,610400
13 Stan Webb Mitchellville IA $3,812300
14 Harold Poignant Lacon IL $3,812300
15 Brandon Meyers Henderson NV $3,812300
16 Colin Anderson Minneapolis MN $3,032200
17 John Whitacre Newton IA $3,032200
18 David Steger Colesburg IA $3,032200
19 Jim Boone Lakeville MN $2,482100
20 Jason Brin Desota KS $2,482100
21 Molly Mossey St. Paul MN $2,482100
22 Troy Rewoldt Hubbard IA $2,482100
23 Derek Dempster Ankeny IA $2,482100
24 Jim Fowler Vinton IA $2,482100
25 James Lawrence Prior Lake MN $2,482100
26 Paul Ewen Milford IA $2,482100
27 Matt Sztamburski Ankeny IA $2,482100
28 Hamid Feiz Urbandale IA $2,19850
29 Matt Alexander Minneapolis MN $2,19850
30 Kou Vang Maplewood MN $2,19850
31 Gennady Shimelfarb Minneapolis MN $2,19850
32 Phil Mader Grand Island NE $2,19850
33 Brian Zupancich Silver Bay MN $2,19850
34 David Kimbrell Overland Park KS $2,19850
35 Steve Belland Bagley MN $2,19850
36 John Oetker Marshalltown IA $2,19850

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies