Golden Gates Casino: November 6 - 15, 2015


Golden Gates Casino - Black Hawk, CO

November 12-15, 2015

Main Event: 510 Entrants

Phanora Pham Wins MSPT Meskwaki Casino, $123,180!

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

The Mid-States Poker Tour Golden Gates Casino attracted a record 510 entries to Black Hawk, Colorado to compete for their share of a $494,700 prize pool. On Sunday, the final 87 players returned to the famed poker parlor to battle down to a winner. After 13 hours of play, Phanora Prom emerged as the last man standing to collect the $123,180 first-place prize.

Prom, who hails from nearby Denver, had $75,744 in live tournament earnings before the win, which included a ninth-place finish in the MSPT's visit to Black Hawk back in March 2014.

When the day began, 33 players needed to hit the rail to make the money. Among those to leave empty handed were MSPT Grand Falls champ Alan CurlKevin "1sickdisease" Eyster, World Poker Tour One to Watch Jose Serratos, Colorado poker pro Bryan Devonshire, MSPT Team Pro Nick Pupillo, and defending champ Kane Lai, who began the day with a ton of chips but ultimately picked the wrong spot to shove.

With 55 players remaining, David Gutfreund opened for 23,000 from early position and Igor Balaban three-bet to 40,000. When action reached Ben Marsh on the button, he four-bet jammed for 141,000, and Gutfreund shoved all in over the top, which inspired Balaban to fold.

Marsh: A♥K♥
Gutfreund: AxAx

Marsh was in big trouble, and it got even worse when Gutfreund flopped a full house on the AxQxQx flop. A third Qx on the turn meant Marsh could chop if the fourth lady appeared on the river, but it wasn't in the cards. Marsh exited as the bubble boy in 55th place, ensuring the remaining players a minimum $1,979 payday.

From there until the final table was set, the in-the-money eliminations racked up and included reigning World Series of Poker Millionaire Maker champ Adrian Buckley (50th - $1,979); the last woman in the field Norelia Austin (35th - $2,474); MSPT Golden Gates $360 Regional champ and start-of-the-day chip leader Bobby Sanoubane (32nd - $2,474); MSPT Team Pro Matt Alexander(20th - $2,721); and two-time WSOP bracelet winner David Warga (13th - $4,947).

When the final table of 10 was reached, Don Angstead led the pack, but with the blinds so high it was really anyone's game. The short-stacked George Clark was the first to go after running A♥6♣into Michael Sanders' pocket queens, and then Corey Zedo exited in ninth place after losing a race to Ben Keeline.

Day 1a chip leader Ross Reichart was the next to go after running pocket jacks into the queens of Prom, and then Dave Kohnke saw his A♥J♠ go down in flames to the A♠K♣ of Aaron Thomas.

From there, Sanders was crippled after running king-jack into the pocket aces of Prom, and then busted a hand later to Thomas. One hand after that, Keeline shoved with the A♥Q♦ only to run into the A♥Q♦ of Prom.

Prom then eliminated Angstead in fourth place – the former's A♥J♠ holding against the latter's K♥10♦ in a blind-versus-blind battle – and took a big chip lead into three-handed play.

Prom then eliminated Thomas in third place after turning trips, and finished off Sammy Aweida in just two hands of heads-up play. In the first hand, Prom shoved the button and Aweida folded. in the second hand, Aweida shoved and Prom called.

Prom: A♣6♦
Aweida: A♦8♠

Aweida held the better kicker with his ace, so he was primed to double in those instances there wasn't a chop or Prom got lucky. However, Prom spiked two pair on the 6♣A♠2♠ flop, and neither the K♦ turn nor 9♥ river helped Aweida, who fell in second place for $69,258.

The MSPT will now head to Ho-Chunk Gaming Wisconsin Dells in Baraboo, Wisconsin for the penultimate stop of Season 6. That $1,100 Main Event will kick off Friday, and you can find out all the details here.


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Phanora Prom Denver CO $123,1801,600
2 Osama Aweida Broomfield CO $69,2581,400
3 Aaron Thomas Beaumont TX $44,5321,300
4 Donald Angstead Longmont CO $35,3701,200
5 Ben Keeline Longmont CO $27,7031,100
6 Michael Sanders Pottsville AR $22,7551,000
7 Dave Kohnke Broomfield CO $18,056900
8 Ross Reichert Sturgis SD $14,098800
9 Corey Zedo Denver CO $9,893700
10 George Clark Parker CO $6,431600
11 Cuong Nguyen Houston TX $6,431600
12 David Gutfreund Chicago IL $6,431600
13 David Warga Golden CO $4,947500
14 Derek McMaster Richfield MN $4,947500
15 William Givens Centennial CO $4,947500
16 Sylvain Cote Gypsum CO $3,710400
17 Paul Hoch Superior CO $3,710400
18 Kyle Wagner Ames IA $3,710400
19 Joshua Connett Tabernash CO $2,721300
20 Matt Alexander Minneapolis MN $2,721300
21 James Wilson Minneapolis MN $2,721300
22 Julian Levy Evergreen CO $2,721300
23 He Ming Huang Chicago IL $2,721300
24 Charles Harder Windsor CO $2,721300
25 Jon Tyler Holbrook Denver CO $2,721300
26 Michael Campbell Rapid City SD $2,721300
27 Philip Bujorian Colorado Springs CO $2,721300
28 Lucas Mermin Robbinsdale CO $2,474200
29 Tom Heine Boulder CO $2,474200
30 Igor Balaban Denver CO $2,474200
31 Danny Gonzales Westminster CO $2,474200
32 Bobby Sanoubane Aurora CO $2,474200
33 Chris Maxwell Westminster CO $2,474200
34 Ryan Brown Aurora CO $2,474200
35 Norecia Austin Denver CO $2,474200
36 Dan Simental Colorado Springs CO $2,474200
37 Jason Vanstrom Colorado Springs CO $2,226100
38 Nathan Finger Lakewood CO $2,226100
39 Steven Baca Arvada CO $2,226100
40 Nader Wahdan Aurora CO $2,226100
41 Matt Greenwald Erie CO $2,226100
42 Svetlana Martie Lakewood CO $2,226100
43 Robert Schneegas Craig CO $2,226100
44 Lou Mortellaro Lakewood CO $2,226100
45 Mitchell Lekarczyk Steamboat Springs CO $2,226100
46 Tom Bouziden Colorado Springs CO $1,97950
47 Mansour Alipourfard Boulder CO $1,97950
48 Michael Ermie Perrysburg OH $1,97950
49 Luke Macken Denver CO $1,97950
50 Adrian Buckley Westminster CO $1,97950
51 Richard O'Neal Chicago IL $1,97950
52 Vincent Griboski Aurora CO $1,97950
53 Robert Foster Alliance NE $1,97950
54 Cuong Dang Toronto, Canada $1,97950

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies