Potawatomi Casino: April 4 - 12, 2015


Potawatomi Casino - Milwaukee, WI

April 10-12, 2015

Main Event: 635 Entrants

Jason Mirza Wins MSPT Potawatomi Casino, $147,529

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

Fitchburg, Wisconsin's Jason Mirza won the 2015 Mid-States Poker Tour Potawatomi Casino Main Event in the early morning hours Monday, besting a record field for a poker tournament in his home state.

Despite coming into heads-up play a little behind in chips, Mirza got the best of veteran grinder Leon Morford to collect a $147,529 first-place prize and the coveted MSPT title.

"Just shipped the MSPT Potawatomi for $147k," Mirza tweeted after the win. "Finally a big result after a ton of work. Tyty all for the rail."

Notable finishes: Mike Deis (11th - $7,988), Brett Reichard (23rd - $3,379), Darryl Ronconi (27th - $3,379), Dan Almerli (29th - $3,011), Zal Irani (30th - $3,011), Mark Hodge (37th - $2,704), Matt Alexander (54th - $2,396)

The event's two starting flights drew a grand total of 635 entries to Milwaukee, also becoming the MSPT's second biggest tournament and largest ever held outside of Las Vegas. The event's final day began Sunday morning with 135 players and quickly moved past the 63-player money bubble.

Mirza began to assert himself soon after and found a spot among the leaders after busting Mike Ross at the final three tables.

Although he lost a massive hand versus Morford as they inched closer to the final table, missing with an open-ended straight-flush draw, he was able to settle down and right the ship.

Mirza entered the final 10 in the middle of the pack with Morford holding the lead, but it was fourth-place finisher Richard Bai who took control early and moved into a commanding lead at one point.

Bai had a chance to get up and above five million chips during seven-handed action before third-place finisher Andreas Wagner went runner-runner to make a flush and crack his queens.

It was Mirza himself who ended up being the first player past that post when he took most of sixth-place finisher James Kasputis' chips, holding with queens versus nines all in preflop.

Morford did all the heavy lifting after that, busting all the shorter stacks to take a lead into heads-up play.

The two then traded a number of jabs heads-up with Mirza taking the lead twice. The final hand of the tournament took place in Level 32 (80,000/160,000/20,000), and it happened when Morford bet 500,000 on a 6♥8♥5♠ flop and Mirza raised to 1.8 million, Morford shoved all in and Mirza, who barely had him covered, snap-called.

Mirza: 5♣8♣ 
Morford: K♥8♦

Morford had flopped top pair with a solid kicker, but Mirza was ahead with two pair. The 6♠ turn counterfeited Mirza and gave Morford the lead with eights and sixes with a king kicker, but then the 5♦ spiked on the river. With that, Mirza rivered a full house to take the title and the home-state glory.

Season 6 of the MSPT continued this week with the MSPT Maryland Live! in Hanoiver, Maryland, which will culminate with an $1,100 buy-in $250,000 Guaranteed Main Event this weekend. For more information, visit msptpoker.com.


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Jason Mirza Fitchburg WI $147,5291,700
2 Leon Morford Rockford IL $82,9561,500
3 Andreas Wagner Franksville WI $52,2281,400
4 Richard Bai Schaumburg IL $42,3971,300
5 Matthew Vaughan Brookline MA $33,7951,200
6 James Kasputis Rockford IL $27,9571,100
7 Daniel Goepel Hartland WI $22,4271,000
8 Martin Corn Cary IL $16,897900
9 Alan Wehbi Villa Park IL $11,675800
10 Greg Koutelidakis Buffalo Grove IL $7,988700
11 Michael Deis Ann Arbor MI $7,988700
12 Peter Dong Kim Winfield IL $7,988700
13 Jimmy Dennis Minooka IL $5,837600
14 Tyler Van Elzen Madison WI $5,837600
15 Alex Watts Fox Point WI $5,837600
16 Paul Zalewski Mt Prospect IL $4,301500
17 Spendi Rusitovski Oak Creek WI $4,301500
18 Kenneth Holter Round Lake Heights IL $4,301500
19 Daniel Meddaugh Burlington WI $3,379400
20 Micahel Slutzky Wauwatosa WI $3,379400
21 Piotr Dudzinski Chicago IL $3,379400
22 Ryne Johnson Menasha WI $3,379400
23 Brett Reichard Janesville WI $3,379400
24 Kyle Ashman Seymour WI $3,379400
25 Michael Ross Chicago IL $3,379400
26 Vinh Tran Aurora IL $3,379400
27 Darryl Ronconi Naperville IL $3,379400
28 Richard Syverud North Freedom WI $3,011300
29 Daniel Almerli Reedsburg WI $3,011300
30 Zal Irani Chicago IL $3,011300
31 Philip Cali Elmhurst IL $3,011300
32 Ryan Bonn Kenosha WI $3,011300
33 Louis Tirado Naperville IL $3,011300
34 He Ming Huang Chicago IL $3,011300
35 Shane Cuccia Lake Geneva WI $3,011300
36 Scott Hammett Chelsea MI $3,011300
37 Mark Hodge Fernandina Beach FL $2,704200
38 Adam Dembowski Arlington Heights IL $2,704200
39 Kathalyn Holz Zammuto Belvidere IL $2,704200
40 Nghia Tran Kimberly WI $2,704200
41 Randy Propson North Las Vegas NV $2,704200
42 Cory Henrickson Two Rivers WI $2,704200
43 John Schray Chicago IL $2,704200
44 Aaron Wallace Zionsville IN $2,704200
45 Gary Herstein Chicago IL $2,704200
46 Matthew Shepsky Skokie IL $2,396100
47 Robert Richmond Riverwoods IL $2,396100
48 Marcellus Lane Chicago IL $2,396100
49 Calvin Shaw Milwaukee WI $2,396100
50 Douglas Warning Woodstock IL $2,396100
51 Jeffrey Olson Sussex WI $2,396100
52 Lokesh Subramanian Springfield IL $2,396100
53 John Nelson Curtice OH $2,396100
54 Matt Alexander Minneapolis MN $2,396100
55 Ben Berlowski Green Bay WI $2,08950
56 Gregory Daniel Greenfield WI $2,08950
57 Daniel Moorman Chicago IL $2,08950
58 Eugene Pingel Little Chute WI $2,08950
59 Jeremiah Angell Portage WI $2,08950
60 Frances Skinner Libertyville IL $2,08950
61 Daniel Czupryna Pingree Grove IL $2,08950
62 Luke Merker Delavan WI $2,08950
63 Jon Hanner St. Paul MN $2,08950

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies