Grand Casino Mille Lacs: November 10 - 18, 2012


Onamia, MN

Main Event - $164,176 Prize Pool, 172 Entrants

Congratulations to Matt Kirby for taking home $46,970 and the RF Moeller Diamond Championship Bracelet!


After two seasons without a repeat winner, the MSPT crowned it's second two-time winner in one season this week when Matt Kirby won his second bracelet after a short heads up battle with Minnesota Player of the Year points leader Erick Wright. Kirby has won over $100,000 in MSPT events to date, with no sign of slowing as he seems to run deep in every event this year.

Previous back to back winner Dan Sun failed in his attempt to be the first three time champ when his AA was cracked by Kirby's King-Queen and he busted in third. The third place finish all but locks up the MSPT player of the year race for Sun.

With a combination of strong and aggressive play, and some excellent cards, Kirby dominated the final table, ending the fastest final table in MSPT history with a payday of $46,970 and his second RF Moeller Diamond Championship Bracelet. Kirby has also had numerous other big scores this year, including a $52,000 win in a Rio daily event during the World Series of Poker. His first MSPT win came earlier this past May at Northern Lights Casino in Walker, Minnesota where he pulled down a similar prize of $47,070 and his first bracelet.

The event at Grand Casino Mille Lacs featured a prize pool of nearly $170,000 and what many believed was the toughest final table in MSPT history. Along with Kirby, Wright, and Sun, the table was stuffed with strong players with final table experience. Fourth place belonged to the 2011 MSPT Player of the Year Nate Fair, and traveling pro Everett Carlton made his record seventh final table before busting in 7th place.

Next up, the tour goes to Canterbury Park in Shakopee, Minnesota for the final stop of season 3.  Events at Canterbury Park always draw large fields, and a crowd of over 300 entries is expected.


Rank Player Name AmountPoints
1 Matt Kirby $46,9701,000
2 Erick Wright $26,268800
3 Dan Sun $16,418700
4 Nathan Fair $12,149600
5 Brian Zekus $9,851500
6 Steve Krogness $7,388400
7 Everett Carlton $6,567300
8 Joe Osterbauer $5,746200
9 Matt Douvier $4,925100
10 Rob Washam $3,94075
11 Sam Hanson $3,94075
12 Joe Matheson $3,94075
13 Cy Spinler $2,95550
14 Jason Koch $2,95550
15 Ryan Hartmann $2,95550
16 3 Putts $2,46350
17 Edward Janezich $2,46350
18 Rich Edinger $2,46350

©  2009 - 2017 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies