Meskwaki Casino: March 18 - 26, 2017


Meskwaki Casino - Tama, IA

March 24-26, 2017

Main Event: 466 Entrants

Jason Ramos Wins Historic #MSPT100 Main Event at Meskwaki Casino, $108,120!

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

In late March, the MSPT hosted our historic 100th Main Event. The $1,100 buy-in tournament took place at Meskwaki Casino in Tama, Iowa, a venue the tour had visited 15 times prior. The largest tournament in past stops was 451 entrants, but that was surpassed by #MSPT100, which drew 466 entries!

After two days of intense play, 35-year-old Jason Ramos, who last year took a leave of absence to spend more time with his three little girls and to pursue poker on the side, emerged victorious to win the prestigious title and a $108,120 first-place prize.

Prior to the win, Ramos had $161,490 in lifetime earnings, including a previous career-best $97,016 for winning the Opening Event of last October’s World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Hammond stop. Ramos topped a massive field of 2,121 entries in that $365 buy-in no-limit hold’em event.

“I took a leave of absence in January to purse the poker a little bit, it’s paying off,” Ramos said. “I got engaged in December, so the money is going to go towards a house and probably some more poker tournaments. I’ll take the family on vacation this summer for sure.”

Ramos, who said he’ll be traveling to Vegas this summer, put his hand on the MSPT trophy and added, “I’ve always wanted one of these.”

On Day 2, 88 players returned to action, each looking to make the money at the top 45. Among those to fall short were poker reporter Mo Nuwwarah, reigning champ Ken Komberec, MSPT Pro Matt Alexander, former champs Joe Matheson and Josh Reichard, and one-time NFL running back Fred Jackson.

Once Nick Marsh fell as the bubble boy in 46th place – the result of his ace-ten failing to hold against deuce-three – the in-the-money finishes began to mount. Among those to earn a payday but fall short of the final table were Everett Carlton (41st - $2,253), Johnny “Quads” Wenzel (33rd - $2,703), Nikki Nelson (27th - $3,379), 2016 Iowa State Poker Champ John Sun (13th - $5,857), and 2016 MSPT Wisconsin State Poker Championship (12th - $7,659).

The final table kicked off with a bang when the short-stacked Richard Thousand got his chips in preflop on just the third hand. Unfortunately for him, his  ah jh was way behind the  da ks of Jon McKamie, who held after the board ran out  3d 5h 8d 7s kc.

It took a while for the next elimination to occur, but it finally came on Hand #29 when Vlad Revniaga got his stack all in preflop holding the  qh qs against the  9h 9d of Ramos. Unfortunately for the Minnesota pro, the  5s 7d jh 9s jd runout gave Ramos a full house.

“The turning point was the nines when he shipped with kings,” Ramos said of the hand. “I thought I had the best hand, but I didn’t. I got lucky and it was just steam-rolling from then on.”

Seven hands later, Eric Eelkema exited in eighth place when he ran pocket sevens into Ramos’ kings, and a short time later Nathan Crookshank fell after jamming with pocket eights on a  9c 4s 4c flop only to see Ramos call with the  ac 9s. No eight came and Crookshank had to settle for seventh place.

On Hand #66, David Hengen shoved his last 485,000 all in from the small blind holding the  js 10h and Keith Heine, who had won the tournament one year prior, called from the big with the  as 2d. The board ran out  4s 4c 7d 6s qd and that was all she wrote for Hengen.

In one of the biggest hands of the tournament, which took place with the blinds at 40,000/80,000/10,000, Joel Klipping, who was in the small blind, three-bet all in for 1.3 million preflop holding the  da 4d after Heine had opened for 165,000 from under the gun. Heine snap-called off for nearly the same amount with the  as ks, and a bad beat was in store as the board ran out  4h 3s 8h qh 5s to give Klipping the win. Heine had to settle for fifth place, an impressive finish after winning the tournament one year ago.

McKamie bowed out in fourth place after his  qc 10c failed to get there against Ramos’  ah qh on a  5h kd 4h 6s 7c runout, and that set up a lengthy three-handed battle. Eventually Klipping fell after running ace-nine into Ramos’ pocket queens, and that allowed Ramos to take 8.2 million into heads-up play against Matt Roling’s 1.2 milion. It would last just one hand.

In the final hand of #MSPT100, Roling moved all in with the  ah 2s and Ramos snap-called with the  8h 8c. The board ran out  qd2d 7c 4s 10h and Roling had to settle for runner-up and a $65,325 consolation prize.

“It was a great experience,” Ramos concluded. “I love the MSPT structure. I love how it ends on Sunday and doesn’t carry over. It was good, you’ll see me a lot more this season.”


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Jason Ramos Carol Stream IL $108,1201,500
2 Matthew Roling Irvingdale IA $65,3251,300
3 Joel Klipping Red Lake Falls MN $42,5741,200
4 Jon McKamie Walls MO $29,5091,100
5 Keith Heine Hillsboro MO $22,5261,000
6 David Hengen Omaha NE $17,345900
7 Nathan Crookshank Grinnell IA $14,417800
8 Eric Eelkema Brooklyn Park MN $11,939700
9 Vladimir Revniaga Burnsville MN $10,092600
10 Richard Thousand Ames IA $7,659500
11 Vincent Wolrab Hiawatha IA $7,659500
12 Andrew Rubinberg Chicago IL $7,659500
13 Hao "John" Sun Milwaukee WI $5,857400
14 Todd Breyfogle Hopkins MN $5,857400
15 David Sutton (WI) Mount Pleasant WI $5,857400
16 Darren Ficek Inver Grove Heights MN $4,370300
17 Richard Syverud North Freedom WI $4,370300
18 Roger Bennett Kirksville MO $4,370300
19 Adam Vargason Keystone IA $3,379200
20 Chase Kinchen Vermillion SD $3,379200
21 Mathew Wyngarden Cedar IA $3,379200
22 David Gonia White Bear Lake MN $3,379200
23 Marius Toderici Chicago IL $3,379200
24 Ryan Hohenstein Eden Prairie MN $3,379200
25 Troy Clark Waterloo IA $3,379200
26 Aaron Johnson Red Wing MN $3,379200
27 Nikki Nelson Dayton MN $3,379200
28 Jaycin Cross Whitten IA $2,703100
29 Katie Gebhart Maple Grove MN $2,703100
30 Kim Olson West Des Moine IA $2,703100
31 Tyler Bock Ankeny IA $2,703100
32 Muneer Ahmed Dassel MN $2,703100
33 John Wenzel Council Bluffs IA $2,703100
34 Jared Lofland Ankeny IA $2,703100
35 Tony Frost Gilbertville IA $2,703100
36 Brandon Pratt North Liberty IA $2,703100
37 Terry Eisenman Olympia WA $2,25350
38 Tracy Porter Lockridge IA $2,25350
39 Jerry Hapunik Chicago IL $2,25350
40 Mark Sandness Wayzata MN $2,25350
41 Everett Carlton St. Paul MN $2,25350
42 Shawn Baker St. Louis MO $2,25350
43 Alex Smith Casper WY $2,25350
44 James Livingston Newton IA $2,25350
45 Ryan Leng Wheeling IL $2,25350

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies