FireKeepers Casino: October 11 - 19, 2014


Michigan State Poker Championship

FireKeepers Casino Hotel - Battle Creek, MI

October 11-19, 2014

Main Event: 517 Entrants

Ryan Dykhouse Wins MSPT FireKeepers Casino & Michigan State Poker Championship, $124,500

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

After three starting flights and a grueling Day 2, Ryan Dykhouse bested a huge field of 517 entries to win the latest stop on the 2014 Mid-States Poker Tour schedule at FireKeepers.

The event would see 98 runners return for Day 2 to battle for the titles of Michigan State Poker Champion and MSPT Champion. Dykhouse made his way through to Day 2 via Day 1b and came into Day 2 smack-dab in the middle of the pack, ranked 49th in chips.

On Day 2, players reached the money four levels into play and it would take another six levels to reach the final table. On the way there, notable players lost to the cruelty of tournament poker included Patrick Steele(46th place), Michael Ross (35th), Dash Dudley (26th), and Jean Gaspard(16th).

The first full level of final-table play saw three players hit the rail, as Nik StoneChad Bienz and Jim Dominique all fell short in their bid for the championship. Tour regular Steve Anderson was next to go as he couldn’t win a race and his A♠J♠ fell short against the pocket tens of Adam Friedman.

Next to go was Phung Ngo, which was perhaps a sign of things to come for Dykhouse. After that, in fifth place was Nick Pupillo, also at the hands of Dykhouse when his A♦Q♦, couldn’t fade Dykhouse’s K♣Q♣ when he flopped a king. Jeremy Ehrke started the day as chip leader, but couldn’t get it done and exited in fourth place.

Friedman had scratched and clawed his way to the final three and it was he, Dykhouse and Mark Johnson that battled it out for quite some time. Friedman was eventually worn down and exited in third place, leaving Dykhouse and Johnson heads up.

Dykhouse started heads-up play with more than a 2-1 chip lead and, despite a couple of stumbles, never really gave up control and eventually finished off Johnson, who hung in nicely before finally succumbing to the strong play from Dykhouse.

Johnson would take home $70,000 for his efforts and Dykhouse more than tripled his previous largest live cash with the $124,500 score. Congratulations to Ryan Dykhouse, Michigan State Poker Champion and MSPT FireKeepers Champion.

The next stop of the 2014 MSPT schedule will be at Meskwaki Casino starting Nov. 1 and running through Nov. 9. The $1,100 Main Event boasts a $300,000 guarantee and will begin Nov. 7. Live coverage from the event will be right here on PokerNews, and for more information about the stop and others, you can check out


Rank Player Name AmountPoints
1 Ryan Dykhouse $124,5001,600
2 Mark Johnson (Michigan) $70,0001,400
3 Adam Friedman $45,0001,300
4 Jeremy Ehrke $35,7401,200
5 Nicholas Pupillo $28,0001,100
6 Phung Ngo $23,0001,000
7 Steve Anderson $18,250900
8 James Dominique $14,250800
9 Chad Bienz $10,000700
10 Nikolas Stone $6,500600
11 Greg Lamson $6,500600
12 Paul Stoddard $6,500600
13 Henry Tran $5,000500
14 Bruce Swart $5,000500
15 Michael Ermie $5,000500
16 Jean Gaspard $3,750400
17 Alex Barill $3,750400
18 Philip Clements $3,750400
19 Michael Griebe $2,750300
20 Kelley Edgar $2,750300
21 Ryan Austin $2,750300
22 Johnny Bahri $2,750300
23 James Petzing $2,750300
24 Bryan Gwin $2,750300
25 Steve Maniaci $2,750300
26 Dash Dudley $2,750300
27 Clint Steelman $2,750300
28 Xingjun Chen $2,500200
29 Dusty Feller $2,500200
30 Steven Williams $2,500200
31 Tom Klein $2,500200
32 Anthony Brust $2,500200
33 Joseph Yashinsky $2,500200
34 Kristopher Bradshaw $2,500200
35 Michael Ross $2,500200
36 Philip Chandler $2,500200
37 Larry Baxter $2,250100
38 Thomas Williams (MI) $2,250100
39 Craig Fairchild $2,250100
40 Laurance Essak $2,250100
41 Terry Reznick $2,250100
42 Michael Matheny $2,250100
43 Kurtis Kaspar $2,250100
44 John Hertel $2,250100
45 Josh Williams $2,250100
46 Patrick Steele $2,00050
47 Satish Thakur $2,00050
48 Eric Sarrazine $2,00050
49 Doug Singleton $2,00050
50 Bledar Shaholli $2,00050
51 Philip Wiszowaty $2,00050
52 Gary Farhat $2,00050
53 Gary Goad $2,00050
54 Cooper Wanty $2,00050

©  2009 - 2017 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies