Meskwaki Casino: October 31 - November 8, 2015


Meskwaki Casino - Tama, IA

November 6-8, 2015

Main Event: 410 Entrants

Rich Alsup Wins MSPT Meskwaki Casino, $101,229!

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

A story of redemption played out at the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel in Tama, Iowa Sunday night, as Rich Alsup took down the 2015 Mid-Stakes Poker Tour Meskwaki Main Event title and $101,229, after coming runner-up at the same stop this past March.

A 31-year-old professional poker player from Eden Prairie, Minnesota, things fell into place time and time again for Alsup at the final table until MSPT glory was finally his.

The event drew 410 players over two starting flights, but just 77 survivors returned to vie for the championship Sunday. Play moved quickly past the 45-player money bubble and just after 7 p.m. local time the final table was set with MSPT Pro Matt Alexander firmly in the lead.

Alsup sat fourth of ten when Jason Seitz busted, running K♥Q♠ into Hamid Feiz' AKMarius Toderici was the next to go when he was outdrawn by Feiz, but Alsup began his move towards the top, busting Day 1 chip leader Marty Faldet eighth, flopping a set of fours against his nines all in preflop.

Feiz won a flip to double through Alexander next, then busted him when a clearly frustrated Alexander shoved top pair into his top two. Feiz had moved into the chip lead when Mark Hodgebusted sixth, picking up enough MSPT Player of the Year points with his finish to overtake the lead in that race.

Feiz' lead would not last, however, as Alsup stung him, shoving over his raise with A♣7♠, getting called by A♠J♥ and outdrawing him when they both flopped two pair by making a boat on the river.

Feiz fell short, and then exited in fifth place before Shaun Burnett lost a race against Derek Dempster to bow out fourth. Ric Cacho got super short three handed and also gave the last of his stack to Dempster, allowing him to take a lead into heads-up with Alsup.

It was a back-and-forth match until the poker gods smiled on Alsup once again, handing him trips on the river after he got it in with bottom pair and a gutshot against Dempster's top pair with the same draw.

In the end, Dempster was forced to shove short with the 5♥4♦, geot called by Alsup on the similar 5♣4♥, and four clubs came out to give Alsup the win.

Alsup admitted it just seemed to be his time in Tama as he found himself catching every card needed on the way to winning the 2015 Mid-Stakes Poker Tour Meskwaki Main Event.

Next up for the MSPT is a stop at the Golden Gates Casino in Black Hawk, Colorado next weekend, and the PokerNews Live Reporting Team will be there for every flop turn and river. For more information, click here.


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Richard Alsup New Hope MN $101,2291,500
2 Derek Dempster Ankeny IA $58,4421,300
3 Ric Cacho Tucson AZ $35,6581,200
4 Shaun Burnett Lacona IA $28,7251,100
5 Hamid Feiz Urbandale IA $22,5831,000
6 Mark Hodge Fernandina Beach FL $18,820900
7 Matt Alexander Minneapolis MN $15,056800
8 Marty Faldet Calmar IA $11,490700
9 Marius Toderici Chicago IL $7,924600
10 Jason Seitz Shakopee MN $5,151500
11 Randy Perkins Davenport IA $5,151500
12 Jason Bender Keota IA $5,151500
13 Brett Reichard Janesville WI $3,962400
14 James Wilson Minneapolis MN $3,962400
15 Kipp Smith Grand Island NE $3,962400
16 Jose Serratos Detroit MI $3,130300
17 Kurtis Kaspar Portage MI $3,130300
18 Dan Hamm Des Moines IA $3,130300
19 Nick Jivkov Des Plaines IL $2,456200
20 Adam Friedman Gahanna OH $2,456200
21 Matt Hauge Grimes IA $2,456200
22 Ricky McGown Marceline MO $2,456200
23 Tony Lazar Plymouth MN $2,456200
24 Joseph Barnard St. Paul MN $2,456200
25 David Gutfreund Chicago IL $2,456200
26 Steve Sloan Sublette IL $2,456200
27 Rachel Keele Ankeny IA $2,456200
28 Matt Kaldenburg Johnston IA $2,179100
29 Brian Zupancich Silver Bay MN $2,179100
30 Michael Lang Waukee IA $2,179100
31 Tom Hammers Burnsville MN $2,179100
32 Todd Breyfogle Hopkins MN $2,179100
33 George Dietz Oak Park IL $2,179100
34 Jun Kim West Chicago IL $2,179100
35 Todd Melander Minneapolis MN $2,179100
36 Thomas Peebles Appleton WI $2,179100
37 Dan Sun Cedar Rapids IA $1,98150
38 Darrell Prevail Sioux City IA $1,98150
39 Dave Carey Marion IA $1,98150
40 Dustin Peck Washington IA $1,98150
41 Tom Hujda New Lenox IL $1,98150
42 Richard Syverud North Freedom WI $1,98150
43 Matt Sztamburski Ankeny IA $1,98150
44 Thomas Dean Johnston IA $1,98150
45 Jaycin Cross Whitten IA $1,98150

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies