Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel: July 21 - 29, 2012


Tama, IA

Main Event - $301, 500 Prize Pool, 301 Entrants

Congratulations to Dan Sun for taking home the RF Moeller Diamond Championship Bracelet and $77,103!


Dan Sun of Cedar Rapids, Iowa earned his first major win Sunday night at Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel in Tama, IA, when he outlasted a 301-player field to take home $77,103 and the RF Moeller Diamond Championship bracelet. 

Sun, a Software Engineer maintained a healthy stack throughout the tournament.  He completed Day 1 seventh in chips with 101 players remaining.  Sun entered the final table with the chip lead - holding 1.3 million – and faced little adversity.  

Sun was anxious to close the deal, focused on earning his first major win.  He had come close in the past, placing 3rd and 4th in Heartland Poker Tour events.  In order to do so, he would have to get through one of the most respected players and best closers in the Midwest. 

His heads up opponent would be Jeremy Dresch (@jerdresch) of Fridley, MN.  Dresch has an MSPT title and three HPT titles on his resume.  He had an MSPT runner-up finish as well. 

With an hour left in Day 1, Dresch crippled the stack of 2006 World Series of Poker Champion Jamie Gold.  Gold won the largest WSOP Main Event in history, defeating a 8,773-player field earning $12 million.  

The two got it all in pre-flop, Dresch with AQ, Gold with AK.  Dresch flopped a queen to double-up, Gold was left with just a few big blinds and was sent to the rail soon after.  

Gold was in attendance for his first MSPT experience.  “I had a blast this week.” Gold said.  “I had heard about this tour a year ago and have been wanting to check it out, I finally got a week off and decided last minute to make the trip to Iowa to spend a few days playing cash games and the Main Event.  I couldn’t have been more impressed, the players are so friendly here and fun to play with.”  

Gold even stuck around to provide some LIVE final table commentary with poker pros Chris “Fox” Wallace and Matt “cadillacmatt54” Kirby.  He told a few stories and answered questions from viewers.  Where else can you chat with a WSOP Champ from your living room while watching a final table broadcast with hole cards? 

The event center crowd was rooting for local Gene Bennett of Tama, IA, who was eventually sent to the rail in fifth place for $14,548.  

2011 MSPT Player of the Year Nate Fair was back in the mix for his third MSPT final table appearance, behind only Everett Carlton (5) on the all-time list.  Fair took home $10,183 for his seventh place finish.  

On the final hand of the tournament, Dresch raised pre-flop with 8-2 off-suit and Sun called. The flop ran A-8-3. Dresch opened, Sun raised, Dresch shoved, Sun tank called with 8-7. The turn was a 5 giving Dresch a gutter-ball draw. The river ran clean for Sun allowing his 7-kicker to play. 

This was the second ever BLUFF Mid-States Poker Tour event at Meskwaki Casino, each event has successfully reached the $300K Guaranteed prize pool. The next $300K event at Meskwaki will be held Oct. 27 - Nov. 4. 

Next on Tour:  The MSPT will make its first ever stop at Grand Falls Casino Resort in Larchwood, IA (Sioux Falls, SD) August 11-19. 

Check out for all MSPT details.


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Dan Sun Cedar Rapids IA $77,1031,400
2 Jeremy Dresch Fridley MN $42,1831,200
3 Michael Fick Des Moine IA $27,9321,100
4 Jason Brin Desota KS $18,9121,000
5 Gene Bennett Tama IA $14,548900
6 Erik Burton Onalaska WI $11,638800
7 Nathan Fair Plymouth MN $10,183700
8 David Gutfreund Chicago IL $8,729600
9 Brett Reichard Janesville WI $7,274500
10 Harry Behling Forest Lake MN $5,819400
11 Jim Meehan Burnsville MN $5,819400
12 Tucker Stone Iowa City IA $5,819400
13 Dave Carey Marion IA $4,073300
14 Greg Gates Iowa City IA $4,073300
15 Mike White Prairie Village KS $4,073300
16 Barry Schmiess Fargo ND $2,910200
17 James Arvesen Jackson WY $2,910200
18 Kou Vang Maplewood MN $2,910200
19 Matt Alexander Minneapolis MN $2,328100
20 Patrick Kenney Minneapolis MN $2,328100
21 James Gibson Manitoba $2,328100
22 Stan Webb Mitchellville IA $2,328100
23 Ken Auker Rock Island IL $2,328100
24 Jeff Petronack Hugo MN $2,328100
25 John Oetker Marshalltown IA $2,328100
26 Ned Weizenegger Aitkin MN $2,328100
27 Chris Wallace St. Paul MN $2,328100
28 Barb Henkle Evansdale IA $1,45550
29 Pat Harshbarger Fond Du Lac WI $1,45550
30 Aaron Hintz Ames IA $1,45550
31 Steve Jewell Dubuque IA $1,45550
32 Bret Sampson Nevada IA $1,45550
33 Sam Hanson Hudson WI $1,45550
34 Mark Reid Canton IA $1,45550
35 Frank Helm Montezuma IA $1,45550
36 David Bashel Brooklyn Park MN $1,45550

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies