Canterbury Park: December 5 - 14, 2014


Canterbury Park - Shakopee, MN

December 5-14, 2014

Main Event: 432 Entrants

Peixin Liu Wins MSPT Canterbury Park, $106,483

Watch the full final table video (large file, may take a few minutes to load)

Season 5 of the Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) began way back in February at Running Aces Harness Park in Minnesota and saw Peixin Liu reach the final table. There, he busted fourth in a tournament ultimately won by Mark Sandness. The tour returned to its home state for the last stop of the season, and this time Liu finished on top claiming $106,483 for defeating a field of 432 at MSPT Canterbury Park. It was Liu's first MSPT title and the biggest live score of his poker career.

Ninety-three runners returned for Day 2 on Sunday to compete for the final MSPT trophy of the year, and 45 would be paid for their efforts. Plenty of notables failed to reach the money including Todd BreyfogleJon HannerTony HartmannMatt AlexanderAdam DahlinJeremy Dresch, and Kou Vang. By failing before the money, Vang fell just shy of the necessary points needed to overtake Mike Deis for MSPT Player of the Year.

The bubble burst in spectacular fashion when tournament veteran Everett Carlton bluffed off his stack to Day 1 chip leader Rodney Colson, jamming the river on an A♦4♥K♣2♥3♥ board with the K♥J♦. Colson took tank-called with the A♠2♠, and his two pair was good.

Once the payouts began, players quickly began falling by the wayside. Dennis StevermerAaron JohnsonJeff Bryan, Ken PatesJeff FielderMatt Kirby, and Nick Pupillo were among the players scoring cashes on their ways out the door. When Tom Stambaugh was eliminated just after the start of Level 26 (20,000/40,000/5,000), the final table was set with Yevgeniy Minakrin in the lead with more than 2.1 million.

Colson, who was at one point the overwhelming leader in the early stages of Day 2, found himself out in 10th when he lost a race with 10x10x to Liu's KxQx. Zeph BaerRich AlsupMark Hodge, and John Pierce followed in short order in ninth through sixth, respectively, in a furious opening hour at the final table.

Liu had emerged as the leader at that point with 2.5 million at the start of Level 28 (30,000/60,000/10,000). Minakrin was the short stack, but he won a flip with the 7♣7♥ against the A♥10♠ of Leo Fussy, rendering Fussy short, and he busted a short time later in fifth.

Things finally slowed down during four-handed play, as it took an hour and a half of battling over mostly small pots before Minakrin fell in fourth. He called off his last 14 big blinds with the K♦9♣ against a small blind shove from James Wilson, who had the K♣J♥ and held. Wilson did the deed once more to send John Reading packing in third. After a 5♣6♠7♣ flop, Wilson put Reading at risk for 1.7 million, more than the pot, during Level 30 (50,000/100,000/10,000). Reading called off with the 9♦7♠ and couldn't hold against Wilson's K♣8♣ as the latter hit a flush.

Liu and Wilson entered heads-up play very close to even, and they battled it out for an hour with Liu gaining the upper hand when he called Wilson's four-bet shove with the 9♣9♥ and was against the A♠7♠. An A♣8♣3♥ flop left Liu drawing thin to stay alive, but a 9♦ turn was what he needed to grab the chip lead. Liu got two streets of value with the Q♥Q♠ a short time later to increase his lead, and a 9♠5♥10♦ flop proved to be the final one of the year for the tour. Wilson shoved in with 9x7x, and Liu called with the A♥10♠, holding when the board ran out with running kings.

With that, the 2014 MSPT season came to a close, crowning Liu as the final champion. The MSPT is done for the year, but Season 6 is coming up quick. It will kick off at a brand new stop — BestBet Jacksonville — on Jan. 15, 2015, with their $200,000 guarantee Main Event taking place from Jan. 23-25. For more information visit


Rank Player Name City State AmountPoints
1 Peixin Liu Blaine MN $106,4831,500
2 James Wilson Minneapolis MN $61,4731,300
3 John Reading Rochester MN $37,5091,200
4 Yevgeniy Minakrin Eagan MN $30,2141,100
5 Leo Fussy St. Cloud MN $23,7561,000
6 John Pierce Rochester MN $19,796900
7 Mark Hodge Fernandina Beach FL $15,837800
8 Richard Alsup New Hope MN $12,086700
9 Zephaniah Baer St. Paul MN $8,335600
10 Rodney Colson Excelsior MN $5,418500
11 Tom Stambaugh Nevis MN $5,418500
12 Derek Crooks Morton MN $5,418500
13 Steve Johnson (MN) Red Lake MN $4,168400
14 Ron Lifson Buffalo MN $4,168400
15 Derek Lesniak Bethel MN $4,168400
16 Sam Hanson Hudson WI $3,292300
17 Gregory Olson Wayzata MN $3,292300
18 Dagoberto Oyarzabal Shakopee MN $3,292300
19 Clayton Warner Saginaw MN $2,584200
20 Judd Greenagel Minneapolis MN $2,584200
21 Nicholas Pupillo Addison IL $2,584200
22 Matt Kirby Bemidji MN $2,584200
23 Jeff Fielder Des Moines IA $2,584200
24 Norberto Santamaria Columbia Heights MN $2,584200
25 Vladimir Revniaga Burnsville MN $2,584200
26 Bryan Ragasa Manitoba $2,584200
27 Debra Kasper Waite Park MN $2,584200
28 Brent Kallman Woodbury MN $2,292100
29 Kentraylus Pates Brooklyn Park MN $2,292100
30 Todd Melander Minneapolis MN $2,292100
31 Dan Stewart Ham Lake MN $2,292100
32 Christian Fashingbauer White Bear Lake MN $2,292100
33 Michael Young Ames IA $2,292100
34 Joel Klipping Red Lake Falls MN $2,292100
35 Brian Ward Lakeville MN $2,292100
36 Ryan Skluzak Kimball SD $2,292100
37 Bill Criego Prior Lake MN $2,08450
38 Tyler Ripplinger Minneapolis MN $2,08450
39 Mike Lovelace Verndale MN $2,08450
40 James Fisher Eden Prairie MN $2,08450
41 Aaron Johnson Red Wing MN $2,08450
42 Jeff Bryan Ft. Calhoun NE $2,08450
43 Joseph Barnard St. Paul MN $2,08450
44 Dennis Stevermer St. Paul MN $2,08450
45 DJ Buckley Eden Prairie MN $2,08450

©  2009 - 2018 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT)

Developed by DHK Technologies