Awarded to date

Late Surge Gives Wahdan Chip Lead on Day 1c of the 2020 MSPT Golden Gates $360 Regional

Nader Wahdan

Day 1c of the 2020 Mid-States Poker Tour (MSPT) Golden Gates $360 Regional Event saw 319 entries into the prize pool with 43 players remaining at end of day. It was the third of four starting flights and the largest thus far, and a familiar face to Black Hawk in Nader Wahdan found himself chip leader with 484,000 when chips went into bags.

Wahdan was seen with close to 400,000 shortly after the final break of the night but had taken a dip down to around 320,000 early in Level 14, the second-to-last level of the night. However, a late surge brought him back up to nearly a half-million, good to plant him on top of the pack.

Following Wahdan in the counts is Alex Smith (399,000), who made the most out of his trek down from his hometown of Casper, WY. Smith chipped up early and continued to accumulate with a nearly all-upward trajectory of his stack as the day went on.

Matt Soban (327,000), Anthony Martinez (320,000), and Dapo Fadeyi (307,000) round out the top five and are the only other three players to finish the day with a stack greater than 300,000. Others to advance included Cy Church (262,000), Chris Tryba (191,000), Steve Wilkie (167,000), Samuel Uhlmann (162,000), and Danny Gonzales (112,000).

Jason Vanstrom was one of those less fortunate. He was eliminated just before chips went into bags by Gonzales to end his night one hand early. Ryan Dodson, Patrick Suzuki, Andrew Peragallo, and Schuyler Thornton were a few more among those to not make it through the day.

The three-day total number of entries has risen to 687, and Saturday's Day 1d presents the final opportunity for players to advance. Field sizes have been up for every flight of the day and the final flight is sure to continue that trend.

Come back to PokerNews to see who else makes it through.

Nader Wahdan 484,000
Alex Smith 399,000
Matt Soban 327,000
Anthony Martinez 320,000
Dapo Fadeyi 307,000
Alex Montoya 278,000
Benjamin Guzman 276,000
Al Luiz 263,000
Cy Church 262,000
Jessica Woodyard 247,000
Matt Johnson 240,000
Ranae Rodriguez 239,000
Jason Neal 226,000
Ethan Lehrburger 222,000
Kurt MacDonald 213,000
Jules Perryman 202,000
Matt Krier 200,000
Chris Tryba 191,000
Gabriel Garcia 182,000
Creg DeBolt 182,000
Phillip Gioia 177,000
Steve WIlkie 167,000
Arun Prabakaran 166,000
David Garcia 164,000
Samuel Uhlmann 164,000